Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAmersham


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAmersham


Amersham Union Workhouse

Following the Poor Law Amendment Act 1834 Amersham Union was declared 27th February 1835. The Union comprised the Parishes of Amersham, Beaconsfield, Chalfont St Giles, Chalfont St Peter, Chenies, Chesham, Chesham Bois, Coleshill, Great Missenden, Lee, Penn and Seer Green.

The Workhouse was erected in 1838 from designs by George Gilbert Scott (1811-1878) and William Bonython Moffatt (1812-1887) architects.

Records Available
Buckinghamshire Record Office
County Hall, 
Walton Street, 
HP20 1UU
Telephone: (01296) 382587; 

Page updated March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email