Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteCaxton


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteCaxton


Caxton Poor Law Union Workhouse

The Board of Guardians meet every alternate Friday at 11am at the Workhouse. The population of the Union in 1901 was 8,397, area 49,805 acres and rateable value at Lady Day 1908, 41,673.

The Union comprises the parishes of Arrington, Bourn, Caldecote, Caxton, Croxton, Croydon, East Hatley, Elsworth, Eltisley, Eversden, Gamlingay, Great Gransden, Hardwick, Hatley St George, Kingston, Knapwell, Little Gransdon, Longstowe, Orwell, Papworth St Agnes, Papworth St Everard, Tadlow, Toft, Wimpole and Yelling.

Union Officers 1908
Chairman of the Board of Guardians Maj. Charles Wentworth Stanley.
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee Surtees George Wilkinson
Treasurer W. G. Hobbs
Relieving and Vaccination Officer for the Union William Howlett Ingle
Superintendent Registrar Surtees George Wilkinson

The Workhouse, a substantial edifice of brick, built in 1836, is calculated to hold 206.

Workhouse Staff 1908
Workhouse Master G. B. Lundy
Workhouse Matron Mrs Lundy
Chaplain Rev. William Ellison
Medical Officer Henry Francis La Touche White

Picture shows Public House on the left, Prison in the centre and Workhouse on the right. 

Records Available

Cambridge Record Office
Shire Hall
Castle Hill
Telephone:- U.K. 01223 717281

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret

Important update:
The domain is being phased out on the website and all institutions will fall under the domain If you have any links to the site using the please amend these as they will not work as the domain is phased out. The domain is for sale, if you would like to purchase it please
email me at


Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email