Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteNorthwich


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteNorthwich


Northwich Union Workhouse

Northwich Poor Law Union was declared 26 September 1836 and contained the whole of the Townships enumerated in the jurisdiction of the County Court, with the exception of Great Budworth, which was in the Runcorn Union. It was divided into the three districts of Northwich, Over & Middlewich, & Weaverham. 

The Union House, situate in Leftwich, is a spacious brick pile, erected in 1837 at a cost of 5000, for the accommodation of 300 inmates. With furniture & other incidental expenses the cost was upwards of 6000.

The Union embraces 60 townships, & has an area of 55,675 acres. The Guardians, 62 in number, meet every alternate Friday at the Board Room. John H Harper esq is the chairman, & Christopher Cheshire esq is Clerk to the Board. 

John & Mary Rosson, governor & matron; 
George Arrowsmith, Richard Arrowsmith(Over), Thomas Woodyer(Weaverham), & John W Newall(Northwich) relieving officers & registrars; 
James Dean, Samuel Foster, John M'Gregor, Samuel Smith, Thomas Hughes, Alexander P Leak & _ Wilson, surgeons; 
Rev Daniel Waller, chaplain;  
Joseph Allcock & Mary Jane Rosson, schoolmaster & mistress.

Link to Photograph Album showing Northwich Union Workhouse

White Directory - p 477, Submitted by Betty Longbottom

Records Available

Cheshire Record Office
Duke Street, 
Tel: 01244 602574 

Useful Links

Link to Northwich Salt Museum 

Page updated March 12, 2008
Copyright Rossbret 2000 - 2003. All rights reserved.