Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBodmin Workhouse


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBodmin Workhouse


Bodmin Workhouse and Poor Law Union

Following the Poor Law Amendment Act 1834, Bodmin Union was officially declared 14th April 1837. The Board of Guardians met alternate Saturdays, at 1.30pm at the Workhouse Board Room. 

The following parishes and places constituted the Union:- Blisland, Bodmin borough and parish, Cardynham, Egleshayle, Endellion, Helland, St. Kew, Lanhydrock, Lanivet, Lanlivery, Lostwithiel, Luxulyan, St Mabyn, St Minver Highlands, St Minver Lowlands, Temple, St Tudy, Warleggan, St Winnow and Withiel.

The area of the Union in 1891 was 87,752 acres, rateable value 99,003 and the population was 18,194.

Union Officers 1897
John Pethybridge, Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee
H. D. Foster, Treasurer
Charles Menhenick, Relieving Officer - North District
John Gatty, Relieving Officer - South District
Mark Henwood Marks, Superintendent Registrar
Thomas Whale, Workhouse Master
Mary Elizabeth Whale, Workhouse Matron
Miss Elizabeth Lampier, Nurse
Bartholomew Gidley Derry, Medical Officer
Source: Kelly's Directory

The Workhouse located near the top of Rhind Street was built 1839-1842 from designs by William Dwelly, at a cost of about 5,000 and was a plain but substantial stone building to hold 250 inmates.

Cornwall Record Office
County Hall, 
TR1 3AY 
Tel 01872 273698

Page updated March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email