Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteCamelford Workhouse


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteCamelford Workhouse


Camelford Workhouse and Poor Law Union

The Board of Guardians meet alternate Fridays at 2pm at the Workhouse. 

The Union comprises the following parishes:- Advent, St Breward, Davidstow, Otterham, Lesnewth, St Juliot, Minster, Forrabury, Trevalga, Tintagel, St Teath, Michaelstow, Lanteglos-by-Camelford and St Clether.

The area of the Union is 46,616 acres, rateable value 37,373 and the population in 1891 was 6,906.

Union Officers 1896
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee W. Sloggatt Hawker
Treasurer Richard Foster
Relieving and Vaccination Officer for the Union John Metherel
Superintendent Registrar W. Sloggatt Hawker

The Workhouse, a plain building of stone in two parallel lines, connected by a covered way, was built in 1858 at a cost of 1,200, for 80 inmates.

Workhouse Staff 1897
Charles John Hillidge Workhouse Master
Ernest John Jerome Medical Officer
Mrs Mary Short Workhouse Matron

Source: Kelly's Directory 1897

Cornwall Record Office
County Hall, 
TR1 3AY 
Tel 01872 273698

Page updated March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email