Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteTruro Workhouse


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteTruro Workhouse


Truro Workhouse and Poor Law Union

The Board of Guardians meet alternate Wednesdays at 11am at the Workhouse, St Clement's. The population of the Union in 1891 was 33,688, area 89,288 acres and rateable value in 1896 132,015.

The Union comprises the following Parishes: Cornelly, Cuby, Feock, Gerrans, Kea, Kenwyn, Ladock, Lamorran, Merther, Perranzabuloe, Philleigh, Probus, Ruan Lanihorne, St Agnes, St Allen, St Anthony in Roseland, St Clement, St Erme, St Just in Roseland, St Michael Penkevil, Tregavethan, Tregony, Truro St Mary and Veryan.

Union Officers 1897
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee Francis Truscott
Treasurer John Doidge
Relieving Officer - Kenwyn District Nicholas Paull
Relieving Officer - Roseland District John Lobb
Relieving Officer - St Mary District  Edward Cardell
Superintendent Registrar Francis Truscott

Truro Union Workhouse was erected 1849-1850 Union Hill  from designs by the Architect William Harris. Union Hill in Truro became Tregolls Road. The Union Workhouse became St Clements Hospital under the National Health Service.

Workhouse Staff 1897
James John Lugg Workhouse Master
Rev. Frederick George Forbes Chaplain
Alfred Salmon Medical Officer
Mrs Lugg Workhouse Matron
Mrs Mary A. Richards Schoolmistress


Workhouses, List of those visited in 1867 With Name of the Workhouse and numbers of  insane, idiotic, and imbecile inmates.
Truro 3 9 12
Source: 22nd Report of the Commissioners in Lunacy to the Lord Chancellor. Submitted by Alan Longbottom.


Cornwall Record Office
County Hall, 
TR1 3AY 
Tel 01872 273698


Page updated Wednesday March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email