Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteCarlisle


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteCarlisle


Workhouses - Carlisle Union

St Mary's Workhouse, near Irish-gate Brow, was erected in 1785, for the reception of paupers of the four townships of St Mary's parish within the city, and is a large building with a spacious yard adjoining.

St Cuthbert's Workhouse on Harraby Hill, was built in 1809, at the cost of about 4,000 including furniture etc. It is a large square stone building, and stands upon an acre of ground, which was purchased many years ago with a bequest of 20 and parish money.

Caldew-gate Workhouse, in Coal-fell Hill, is a plain brick structure, built 1829-30 at a cost of 750, and since enlarged and altered at a cost of about 300, and is now capable of accommodating 130 paupers.

There has been no new workhouse built for this Union, the three old ones being made to do duty in its stead, in the following manner, viz:- 
St Mary's appropriated for the reception of infirm paupers, 
St Cuthbert's for able-bodied paupers, and that at Caldew-gate for children. 

The Union comprises the following parishes and townships etc
viz:- Parishes of 
Burgh by Sands, 
Crosby on Eden, 
and the Townships of 
Blackwell High and Low, 
Kingmoor (hamlet), 
St Cuthbert's within St Mary's within, Upperby, and Wreay, a total of 26. 

The township of Middlesceugh and Braithwaite, in St Mary's parish are within Leath Ward and Penrith Union. 

For the quarter ending June 1846, there were 2,194 paupers belonging to the establishment, 1,774 out-door and 420 in-door paupers. The out-door relief for the same quarter was 1,255-12s-0d and the cost of maintaining the in-door paupers was 277-1s-0d being an average weekly cost of 2s-7d per head.

The Board of Guardians consists of 32, of which Joseph Atkinson esq, is chairman;
Messrs John Bushby and John Sowerby are vice-chairmen; 
Mr James Mounsey is clerk; and 
John Bell esq is auditor. 
Mr William Sowerby is Treasurer, and 
Joseph Pattinson and John Turner and Joseph Nixon are relieving officers. 
Messrs John Hodgson, Edward Bowman, Henry Armstrong, William Arras, Thomas Tweddle, and John Sewell are medical officers, and James Brown, Christopher Woodall, and John Lancaster are workhouse masters, their wives are matrons.

Mr & Mrs Enoch Robinson are schoolmaster and mistress. William Birrell is registrar of births, deaths and marriages and also assistant overseer for St Cuthbert's District and Adam Burrell is registrar of births and deaths for St Mary's District.

Source: Mannex 1847 Cumberland Directory
Submitted by Betty Longbottom
Carlisle pages 133-137

Records Available

Cumbria Archives Service

Useful Links

Link to a site regarding Carlisle Workhouse

Page updated 12 March, 2008 by Rossbret