Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAshborne


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAshborne


Ashborne Union

The Union comprises the following parishes and townships:
Alkmonton, Alstonefield, Ashborne, Atlow, Ballidon, Bentley, Biggin, Blore-with-Swinscoe, Bonsall, Bradborne, Bradley, Brailsford, Brassington, Callow, Calton, Calwich, Carsington, Clifton & Compton, Eaton & Alsop-le-Dale, Edlaston & Wyaston, Ellastone, Hartington Town Quarter, Hartington Nether Quarter, Hognaston, Hollington, Hopton, Hulland, Hulland Ward, Hulland Ward Intakes, Ible, Kirk Ireton, Kniveton, Lea Hall, Longford, Mapleton, Mayfield, Mercaston, Middleton-by-Wirksworth, Newton Grange, Offcote & Underwood, Okeover, Osmaston, Parwich, Prestwood, Ramshorn, Rodsley, Shirley, Snelston, Stanton, Sturston, Thorpe, Tissington, Waterfall, Yeaveley, Yeldersley.

The area of the Union is 97,983 acres, rateable value 158,436 in 1895 and the population in 1891 was 19,930.

Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee, William Richard Holland, St John Street, also Superintendent Registrar.
Relieving Officers;
Thomas Millward, South District.
George Mellor, North District

The workhouse is situated on an elevated spot, called Church Banks and will hold 160 inmates.

Workhouse Staff in 1895
Joseph Statham Master
P. R. Littleton Medical Officer
Rev. F. Jourdain Chaplain
Mrs Mary Statham Matron

Source: Kelly's Directory 1895


Derbyshire Record Office
County Offices
DE4 3AG 
Tel:- 01629 580000

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret