Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBakewell


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBakewell


Bakewell Union

Bakewell Union was formed July 21st 1838, the Board of Guardians meet every alternate Monday at 11.30am at the Workhouse.

Bakewell Union comprises the following places:
Abney & Abney Grange, Aldwark, Ashford, Bakewell, Baslow with Bubnell, Beeley, Birchover, Blackwell, Bradwell, Brushfield, Calver, Chatsworth, Chelmorton, Cromford, Curbar, Darley, Edensor, Elton, Eyam, Eyam Woodlands, Flagg, Foolow, Froggatt, Grange Mill, Gratton, Great Hucklow, Great Longstone with Holme, Great Rowsley, Grindlow, Hartington Middle Quarter, Harthill, Hassop, Hathersage, Hazelbadge, Highlow, Little Hucklow, Little Longstone, Litton, Matlock, Matlock Bath, Monyash, Middleton & Smerril, Nether Haddon, Nether Padley, Offerton Outseats, Over Haddon, Pilsey, Rowland, Sheldon, Stanton Stoke, Stony Middleton, Taddington & Priestcliff, Tansley, Tideswell, Wardlow, Wensley & Snitterton, Wetstone, Winster and Youlgreave.

The area of the whole Union is 104,617 acres, rateable value in 1895 206,453 and population in 1891 was 32,153.

Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee (1895) Alfred Hawes, Register Office, Bakewell, also Superintendent Registrar.
Collectors and Relieving Officers:
William Bennett, North District
John Milton Toft, South District

The workhouse was erected for 220 inmates.

Staff at the Workhouse 1895
Charles Walter Evans Surgeon
Alfred Swain Master
Mrs Swain Matron
Rev. Edward T. Billings Chaplain


Derbyshire Record Office
County Offices
DE4 3AG 
Tel:- 01629 580000

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret