Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAxminster


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAxminster



Axminster Workhouse and Poor Law Union 

The Axminster Union comprises 17 parishes. 

The total average annual expenditure of the 17 parishes for the support of their poor during the 3 years preceding the formation of the Union was 10,218; during the 3 years ending 1840 9058; & during the succeeding 3 years, 10,029. Their total expenditure for the year ended Lady Day, 1849, was 14,669, including 1297 paid to the county rates, 924 for salaries, & about 90 paid for registration & vaccination fees. 

The Workhouse, at Axminster, was built in 1836 based on the Square Plan from designs by Sampson Kempthorne, at the cost of 7000, but it has since been altered & enlarged, at the cost of 2500. It has room for 450 paupers, but seldom has more than 300 inmates. 10 surgeons are employed by the Union & the other principal officers are Charles Bond Esq, Union clerk & supt.registrar; Rev Z J Edwards, chaplain; William & Mrs Gomm, master & matron of the Workhouse.

Axminster Union Workhouse

Situated on Musbury Road, Part of Tything, Axminster, Devonshire. 

1851 census HO/107/1862             Folio 261     Page 16
William Gonam Master of Administrative Union
Esther Gonam Matron of Administrative Union

Sources Used: 
White Directory - 1850 - p356/7. Submitted by Betty Longbottom

1851 census HO/107/1862 Folio 261 Page 16

Records available from Devon Records Office Web Site 

Page last updated 12 March, 2008 by Rossbret