Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteShaftsbury


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteShaftsbury


Shaftesbury Workhouse and Poor Law Union

The Union comprises the following Parishes: Alcester, Ashmore, Bourton, Buckhorn Weston, Cann, Compton Abbas, Fontmell Magna, Gillingham, Iwerne Minster, Kington Magna, Margaret Marsh, Melbury Abbas, Motcombe, Orchard (East), Orchard (West), Shaftesbury, Silton, Stower (or Stour) East, Stower (or Stour) West, Stower (or Stour) Provost, Sutton Waldron and Todber

The population of the Union in 1911 was 12,783; area 43,088 acres; rateable value at Lady Day 1915, 92,378.

Board Day at the Poor Law Institution, Alcester, at 11am alternate Thursday.
Chairman of the Board of Guardians Bertram Edmund Freame, Gillingham.
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee, Charles Roland Dickenson, Union Offices, Bell Street, Shaftesbury.

The Poor Law Institution, Alcester, is a building of stone, erected in 1837, to hold 100 inmates.
Rev. Frederick Ehlvers, Chaplain.
Hy John Clarke, Master
Mrs Ellen Clarke, Matron.

Source: Kelly's Directory 1915


Dorset Archive Service
Bridport Road
Telephone:- U.K. 01305 250550  


Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret