Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteDurham Workhouse


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteDurham Workhouse


Durham Workhouse and Poor Law Union

The Durham Board of Guardians meet every alternate Saturday at the Board room, Crossgate, at 11am. The area of the Union is 44,252 acres, rateable value on Lady Day 1910 364,790 and the population in 1901 was 74,252.

The Durham Union comprises the following places: Bearpark, Belmont, Brancepeth, Brandon & Byshottles, Broom, Cassop-cum-Quarrington, Castle Precincts, Coxhoe, Crossgate, Durham College, Elvet, Framwellgate, Framwellgate Moor, Hett, Kimblesworth, St Mary Magdalene, Nevilles Cross, Pittington, St Giles (Gilligate), St Mary-le-Bow (North Bailey), St Mary-the-less (South Bailey), St Nicholas, St Oswalds, Shadforth, Sherburn, Sherburn House, Shincliffe, Stockley, Sunderland Bridge, Tudhoe, Whitwell House and Willington.

Union Officers 1910
Chairman of the Board of Guardians William Fleming
Clerk to the Board of Guardians and Assessment Committee Henry Edwin Ferens
Treasurer Charles Hubert Backhouse
Superintendent Registrar P. J. Waite

Durham Union Workhouse was erected at Crossgate in 1837.

Workhouse Staff 1910
George William Richardson Master
Mrs Mary Elizabeth Richardson Matron
Rev. Christopher John Thurlow Chaplain
Selby W. Plummer Medical Officer


Durham County Records
County Hall, 
Telephone: 0191 383 3253


Page last updated 12 March, 2008

Important update:
The domain is being phased out on the website and all institutions will fall under the domain If you have any links to the site using the please amend these as they will not work as the domain is phased out. The domain is for sale, if you would like to purchase it please
email me at


Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email