Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteHartlepool Workhouse


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteHartlepool Workhouse


Hartlepool Workhouse and Poor Law Union

The Board of Guardians meet monthly on Fridays at the Board room, Union Offices, Hart Road, at 3.15pm. The area of the Union is 22,509 acres, rateable value Lady Day 1910, 367,706 and the population in 1901 was 88,234.

Hartlepool Union comprises the following places; Brierton, Claxton, Dalton Piercy, Elwick, Elwick Hall, Greatham, Hart, Hartlepool, Middleton, Seaton, Seaton Carew, Stranton, Thopre Bulmer, Throston, Throston rural and West Hartlepool.

Union Officers 1910
Chairman of the Board of Guardians William J. Coates
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee George Kilvington
Treasurer Ley Chalton
Superintendent Registrar George Kilvington

The Workhouse, in the parish of Throston Rural, opened in September 1861, is a structure of brick and will hold 262 inmates. There is a separate building for infectious cases for both sexes. In 1880 a Hospital, new administration block, two pavilions, affording 250 beds, a school administration block and two pavilions giving room for 500 children were added.

Workhouse Staff 1910
William Armett Master
Mrs Kate Armett Matron
T. G. Ainsley Medical Officer


Durham County Record Office
County Hall, 
Telephone: 0191 383 3253


Page updated Wednesday March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email