Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBraintree


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBraintree


Braintree Union

Parishes comprising Braintree Union

Bocking  Bradwell  Braintree  Great Coggeshall  Little Coggeshall 
Cressing  Fairstead  Faulkbourne  Feering  Finchingfield 
Hatfield Peverel  Kelvedon  Markshall  Black Notley  White Notley 
Panfield  Pattiswick  Rayne  Rivenhall  Great Saling 
Shalford  Stisted  Terling  Wethersfield  Witham

BRAINTREE - Post Office 1846 - p 29

Braintree is the head of a union of 16 parishes, with a population of 16,000. The workhouse is in Rayne Rd.  
Nathan Poole is master; & Mrs Elizabeth Poole, matron; 
John Bragg is schoolmaster; 
Miss Eliza Gardner, schoolmistress.
Source: Submitted by Betty Longbottom  


Workhouses, List of those visited in 1867 With Name of the Workhouse and numbers of  insane, idiotic, and imbecile inmates.
Braintree 5 6 11
Source: 22nd Report of the Commissioners in Lunacy to the Lord Chancellor. Submitted by Alan Longbottom.


Essex Record Office
Wharf Road, 
CM12 6YT. 
Telephone (01245) 244644

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret