Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBromyard


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBromyard


Bromyard Workhouse and Poor Law Union

The Board of Guardians meet alternate Thursdays at the Court House at 11am. The population of the Union in 1891 was 10,562, area 63,247 acres and rateable value 70,354.

The Union comprises the following places;
Acton Beauchamp, Avenbury, Bredenbury, Brockhampton, Bromyard, Collington, Cradley, Edvin Loach, Edvin Ralph, Evesbatch, Felton, Bishop Frome, Grendon Bishop, Hampton Charles, Linton, Little Cowarne, Moreton Jefferies, Much Cowarne, Norton, Ocle Pytchard, Pencombe with Grendon Warren, Saltmarshe, Stanford Bishop, Stoke Lacy, Tedstone Delamere, Tedstone Wafer, Thornbury, Ullingswick, Upper Sapey, Wacton, Whitbourne, Winslow and Wolferlow.

Union Officers 1900
Chairman of the Board of Guardians Rev. David Nicholl
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee Edward Lashford
Collector to the Guardians and Receiving Officer No. 1 District - William Burrow Wilkes
Collector to the Guardians and Receiving Officer No. 2 District - W. H. Yates
Superintendent Registrar Joseph Burrow Weeks
Treasurer Edward J. Smith

The Workhouse at Linton, a building of stone to hold 173 inmates. 

Workhouse Staff 1900
Chaplain Rev. E. H. Archer Shepherd
Medical Officer John William Hinings M.R.C.S.Eng.
Workhouse Master Richard Byard


Hereford Record Office
The Old Barracks
Harold Street
Telephone:- 01432 260750

Page updated March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email