Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteDore Workhouse


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteDore Workhouse


Dore Poor Law Union and Workhouse

Erected in the Parish of Abbeydore in 1839 by the architect John Plowman, who was also the architect for Hereford Union Workhouse.

The Union comprised the parishes of Abbeydore, Bacton, Craswall, Dulas, Ewyas Harold, Kenderchurch, Kentchurch, Kilpeck, Kingstone, Llancillo, Llanveynoe, Longtown, Madley, Michaelchurch Escley, Newton, Orcop, Peterchurch, Rowlstone, St Devereux, St Margaret's, Thruxton, Treville, Turnastone, Tyberton, Vowchurch, Walterstone and Wormbridge.

The Board of Guardians met alternate Mondays at the Workhouse for their meetings. The Workhouse was a building of stone capable of holding 110 inmates.

Union Officers 1909
Chairman to the Board of Guardians C. B. Lee Warner
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee Richard Moore
Workhouse Chaplain Rev. Charles Thomas Brothers, Rector of Bacton
Workhouse Master Charles W. Wall
Workhouse Matron Mrs M. Wall
Medical Officer Lesley Lachlan Thain
Superintendent Registrar Stephen A. Herbert


Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email