Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteKington


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteKington


Kington Union

The Board of Guardians meet bi-weekly at the workhouse at 11am. The population of the Union in 1891 was 11,387, area 101,341 acres and rateable value in 1900 99,360.

The Union comprises the following places;
In Herefordshire - Brilley, Byton, Combe, Eardisley, Harpton Lower, Huntington, Kington Urban, Kington Rural, Kinsham, Knill, Lingen, Lyonshall, Pembridge, Rodd, Nash & Little Brampton, Stapleton, Staunton-upon-Arrow, Titley, Willersley, Willey and Winforton.
In Radnorshire - Colva, Ednol, Evenjobb, Gladestry, Glascombe, Harpton, Kinnerton, Llandegly, Llanfihangel-Nantmelan, Michaelchurch-upon-Arrow, Newchurch, New & Old Radnor, Trewern & Gwithla, Walton and Womaston.

Union Officers 1900
Chairman of the Board of Guardians S. Robinson
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee Anthony Temple
Treasurer Thomas Grafton Sprague
Relieving Officer - No. 1 District Albert Griffiths
Relieving Officer - No. 2 District Jn. Evans
Superintendent Registrar Anthony Temple

The workhouse is a large building of stone, erected in 1837, about a quarter of a mile south of the Town, and will hold 100 inmates.

Workhouse Staff 1900
Chaplain Rev. Charles Edward Craigie
Medical Officer Richard Atherstone Billiald L.R.C.P.Lond.
Workhouse Master James Bostock Roberts
Workhouse Matron Mrs Amy E. Roberts


Hereford Record Office
The Old Barracks
Harold Street
Telephone:- 01432 260750

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret