Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteWeobley


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteWeobley


Weobley Workhouse and Poor Law Union

The Board of Guardians meet every alternate Monday at the Board Room, Workhouse at 11am. The population in 1891 was 7,401, area 48,249 acres and the rateable value in 1899 was 65,293.

The Union comprises the following places;
Almeley, Birley, Bishopstone, Blakemere, Bridge Sollars, Brinsop, Brobury, Byford, Canon Pyon, Dilwyn, Eardisland, Kings Pyon, Kinnersley, Letton, Mansell Gamage, Mansell Lacy, Moccas, Monnington-upon-Wye, Norton Canon, Preston-upon-Wye, Sarnesfield, Staunton-upon-Wye, Stretford, Weobley, Wormesley and Yazor.

Union Officers 1900
Chairman of the Board of Guardians Rev. George Horatio Davenport
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee Francis Holdsworth
Treasurer John Arthur Daggs
Relieving Officer - Weobley Union William Lloyd
Superintendent Registrar Francis Holdsworth

The Workhouse, situated about half a mile from Town on the Kington Road, is a red brick building, erected in 1837 and will hold 115 inmates.

Workhouse Staff 1900
Chaplain Rev. James Sutcliffe Crook
Medical Officer John Jamieson Wallace
Workhouse Master George Dion
Workhouse Matron Mrs Mary Annie Dion


Hereford Record Office
The Old Barracks
Harold Street
Telephone:- 01432 260750

Page updated March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email