Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteEastry


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteEastry


Eastry Union Workhouse

The Board of Guardians meet alternate Tuesdays at the Union, Eastry, at 10.30am. The area of the Union is 46,464 acres, rateable value in 1902 138,925 and the population in 1901 was 31,533.

Eastry Union comprises the following parishes, viz:- Ash-next-Sandwich, Barfreston, Betteshanger, Chillenden, Deal, Eastry, Elmstone, Eythorne, Goodnestone, Great Mongeham, Ham, Knowlton, Little Mongeham, Nonington, Northbourne, Preston-by-Wingham, Ripple, St Bartholomew (Sandwich), St Clement (Sandwich), St Mary (Sandwich), St Peter (Sandwich), Sholden, Staple-next-Wingham, Stourmouth, Sutton-by-Dover, Tilmanstone, Waldershare, Walmer, Wingham, Woodnesborough and Worth.

Union Officers 1902
Chairman of the Board of Guardians Rev. Canon David Bruce Payne
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee Frederick Spencer Cloke
Treasurer Francis Charles Heming
Relieving and Inquiry Officer No. 1 District George Jull
Relieving and Inquiry Officer No. 2 District Thomas Watson
Superintendent Registrar Frederick Spencer Cloke

The Workhouse, at the south-western end of the village, is a structure of brick to which an Infirmary was added in 1871, with 104 beds and detached wards for contagious fever cases. It will hold 494 inmates.

Workhouse Staff 1902
Frederick H. Gabitas Workhouse Master
Rev. Charles Dudley Lampen Chaplain
Mrs Mary Herring Workhouse Matron

A Sanatorium for Infectious Diseases with 12 beds was built in 1901, and a Smallpox Hospital with 12 beds was added in 1902.

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret