Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteElham


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteElham


Elham Union Workhouse

The Board of Guardians meet alternate Thursdays at the Workhouse, Lyminge, at 10am. The area of the Union is 43,725 acres, rateable value in 1902 369,552 and the population in 1901 was 52,134.

Elham Union comprises the following parishes, viz:- Acrise, Cheriton, Elham, Elmsted, Folkestone, Folkestone-next-Sandgate, Hawkinge, Hythe (St Leonard), Lyminge, Lympne, Monks-Horton, Newington-next-Hythe, Paddlesworth, Postling, Saltwood, Sandgate, Sellinge, Stanford, Stelling, Stelling Minnis, Stowting and Swingfield.

Union Officers 1902
Chairman of the Board of Guardians Archibald Stoakes Jones
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee Robert Lonergan
Treasurer John Alexander Mackay Scobie
Relieving and Inquiry Officer No. 1 District Peter Hemsley
Relieving and Inquiry Officer No. 2 District Charles Wollett
Superintendent Registrar Robert Lonergan

The Workhouse, Etching Hill, Lyminge, a structure of red brick, was built in 1840, and will hold 346 inmates, and has since been greatly enlarged, by the addition of infirmary wards, a new Chapel and other buildings.

Workhouse Staff 1902
Frederick Edward Ayre Workhouse Master
Rev. Frederick Taply Chaplain
Mrs R. Ayre Workhouse Matron
William Bishop Medical Officer

The Union Cottage Homes for Children are located at Cheriton, supervised by Mr and Mrs Harvey.

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret