Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteHollingbourne


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteHollingbourne


Hollingbourne Union Workhouse

The Board of Guardians meet alternate Thursdays at the Board Room, 33 Earl Street, Maidstone at 11.45am.. The area of the Union is 57,670 acres, rateable value in 1902 85,763 and the population in 1901 was 12,546.

Hollingbourne Union comprises the following parishes, viz:- Bicknor, Boughton Malherbe, Boxley, Bredhurst, Broomfield, Chart next Sutton Valence, Detling, East Sutton, Frinsted, Harrietsham, Headcorn, Hollingbourne, Hucking, Langley, Leeds, Lenham, Otterden, Stockbury, Sutton Valence, Thurnham, Ulcombe, Wormshill and Wichling.

Union Officers 1902
Chairman of the Board of Guardians T. Powell
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee Henry James Bracher
Treasurer W. F. Mercer
Relieving and Inquiry Officer No. 1 District William Taylor
Relieving and Inquiry Officer No. 2 District William W. H. Ruff
Superintendent Registrar Henry James Bracher

The Workhouse is a commodious building, on the road from Maidstone to Ashford and will hold 400 inmates.

Workhouse Staff 1902
Henry Barling Workhouse Master
Rev. Henry Charles Pryce Jones Chaplain
Mrs Barling Workhouse Matron
A. M. Whitestone Medical Officer


Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret