Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAshby De La Zouch


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAshby De La Zouch


Ashby de la Zouch Union Workhouse

Ashby de la Zouch is a market and Union Town, head of a petty sessional division and county court district, and railway station, and principally consists of one very fine street. It is 20 miles north-west from Leicester by rail, 14 south from Derby, 14 north from Atherstone, 21 south-west from Nottingham and 118 from London by rail. The Leicester and and Burton branch of the Midland Railway runs through, with a branch to Melbourne and Derby, and also a communication with the Trent Valley via Market Bosworth and Nuneaton.

The Board of Guardians meet Saturdays fortnightly. The population in 1891 was 36,368, area 54,091 acres and the rateable value in 1899 189.836.

The Union comprises the following parishes:- Appleby, Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Ashby Woulds, Bardon, Blackfordby, Boundary, Calke, Chilcote, Coalville, Coleorton, Hartshorne, Heather, Hugglescote & Donington, Measham, Netherseal, Normanton-le-Heath, Oakthorpe & Donisthorpe, Osgathorpe, Overseal, Packington, Ravenstone with Snibstone, Smisby, Snareston, Staunton Harold, Stretton, Swannington, Swepstone, Thringston, Ticknall, Whitwick, Willesley, Woodville and Worthington.

Union Officers in 1899
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee George Farmer
Treasurer James Lawford
Superintendent Registrar George Farmer

The Workhouse was erected to hold 300 inmates. In November 1894, a new Infirmary was opened.

Workhouse Staff 1899
John William Brown Workhouse Master
Alfred Orchard Medical Officer
Rev. L. W. Lloyd Chaplain
Amelia Chapman Workhouse Matron

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret