Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBarrow upon Soar


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBarrow upon Soar


Barrow upon Soar Union Workhouse

Barrow-on-Soar is a Township, parish and Union Town, on the River Soar, which is navigable, and affords water communication with all parts of the kingdom, with a stations on the Midland railway, 3 miles south-east from Loughborough, 10 north from Leicester and 112 from London.

The Board of Guardians meet Tuesdays, fortnightly. The population in 1891 was 22,641, area 50,452 acres and rateable value in 1899 was 161,982.

The Barrow-on-Soar Union comprises the following parishes:-  Anstey, Barkby, Barkby Thorpe. Barrow upon Soar, Beaumont Leys, Beeby, Belgrave, Birstall, Bradgate Park, Cossington, Cropston, South Croxton, Gilroes, Leicester Abbey, Leicester Frith, Maplewell Longdale, Mountsorrel, Newtown Linford, Queniborough, Quorndon, Ratcliffe on the Wreake, Rearsby, Rothley, Seagrave, Sileby, Swithland, Syston, Thrussington, Thurcaston, Thurmaston, Ulverscroft, Walton on the Wolds, Wanlip and Woodhouse.

Union Officers 1899
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee John Joseph Fairfax Scott
Treasurer W. U. Heygate
Collectors, Relieving and Vaccination Officers James Bingley Morley & Joseph North
Superintendent Registrar J. J. F. Scott

The Workhouse was erected 1840 in Mountsorrel, by the architect William Flint, and was a building of brick, holding 300 inmates.

Workhouse Staff 1899
John B. Ward Workhouse Master
Rev. A. R. Watson Chaplain
William Paulson Medical Officer
Mrs Matilda Ward Workhouse Matron

Poor Law Records

Records available include:
Minutes 1837-1930
Medical Officer Report Books 1868-1935
Admission and Discharge Registers 1884-1933

Leicestershire Record Office
Long Street
Wigston Magna
LE18 2AH 
Telephone:- U.K. 0116 257 1080

Page updated March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email