Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteWestminster


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteWestminster


Westminster Workhouse and Poor Law Union

Parish of St James, Westminster was renamed Westminster Union in 1868.

Parishes of St Margaret and St John, Westminster joined with St George's Hanover Square in 1870 to become St George's Union

City of Westminster Union 

formed 1913 from the following Union and Parishes:

Parishes within the City of Westminster Union from 1913.

Institutions in the Union

Belmont Workhouse
Chelsea Workhouse
Edmonton Workhouse, Silver Street
Fulham Road Workhouse
Milman Street Receiving Home


London Metropolitan Archives
40 Northampton Road, 

City of Westminster Archives Centre
10 St Ann's Street,
London SW1P 2DE
Telephone: (020) 7641 5180 

Link to Westminster Poor Law Records

Page updated March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email