Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBellingham


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBellingham


Bellingham Workhouse and Poor Law Union

Board day, alternate Saturday at the Board room at 11am during the winter and 2pm in summer. The population in 1891 was 5,442, area 246,605 acres and rateable value in 1893 78,998.

The parishes and townships comprised within the Union and the district of the county court are Great Bavington, Little Bavington, Bellingham, Birtley, Carycoats, Catcherside, Chirdon, Coldwell, Corsenside, Crookdean, Fawns, Kirkharle, Littleharle, West Harle, Hawick, Otterburn, Plashetts & Tynehead, Rochester, Smalesmouth, Sweethope, Tarset West, Thockrington, Thorneyburn, Troughhend, Wark, Wellhaugh, Kirk Whelpington and West Whelpington.

Union Officers 1893 (Kelly's Directory)
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee Robert Riddle
Treasurer William Smith
Relieving Officer ~ West District Thomas Aynsley
Relieving Officer ~ East District Thomas Hedley
Superintendent Registrar Robert Riddle

The Workhouse, a building of stone, erected in 1839 and enlarged in 1874 at a cost of 700, to hold 53 inmates.

Workhouse Staff 1893 (Kelly's Directory)
Thomas Hedley Master
Mrs Hedley Matron
John Peter Elliott Medical Officer


Northumberland Record Office, 
Melton Park, 
North Gosforth, 
Newcastle upon Tyne 
NE3 5QXBerwick-upon-Tweed Record Office, 
Borough Council Offices, 
Wallace Green, 
TD15 1ED

Tyne and Wear Archives Service, 
Blandford House, 
Blandford Square, 
Newcastle upon Tyne, 
NE1 4JA.

Page updated March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email