Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteThetford


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteThetford



Thetford Union, formed by the new poor law commissioners in 1835, comprises 

These 34 parishes comprise an area of 180 sq miles, & a population of 17,542 souls, of whom 11,051 are in Norfolk, & 6491 in Suffolk. Their average annual expenditure for the support of  their poor, during the 3 years preceding the formation of the Union, was 10,408, but in 1838 it amounted only to 6188, & in 1840 to 6953.18s. 

The Union Workhouse, erected in 1836, at the cost of about 5000, stands in St Mary's parish, Thetford, but within the bounds of Suffolk, about half a mile from the town, on the Bury Road. It is an extensive brick building, & its boundary walls enclose 3 acres of land. It has room for 300 inmates, but has seldom half that number, having only 83 in July 1841, & 110 in Sept 1843. 

The Board consists of 43 Guardians, C Fison esq, is chairman, & R Webb esq, vice chairman. William Clarke esq, is union clerk & supt. registrar, C W Hotson esq, auditor, & Mr John Lucas, master of the Workhouse. The relieving officers & district registrars are Mr Denny Smith for Thetford District, & Mr John Sharpe for Methwold District.

Source: White Directory 1844 - p 707
Submitted by Betty Longbottom


Records include Minutes 1835-1930.

Norfolk Record Office
Gildengate House
Anglia Square
Upper Green Lane
Telephone: 01603 761349 

Norfolk Record Office; Records of Poor Law

Genuki Site of Norfolk Poor Law Unions 

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret