Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteWorksop


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteWorksop


Worksop Workhouse

Following the Poor Law Amendment Act 1834 Worksop Union was declared 8th June 1836.

The Union comprised the parishes of Blyth, Carburton, Carlton-in-Lindrick, Cuckney, Harworth, Hodsock, Holbeck, Nether Landwith, Norton, Styrrup, Wallingwells, Welbeck, Woodhouse Hall, Worksop, Barlborough, Clown, Elmton-with-Cresswell, Whitwell, Anston-cum-Membris, Dinnington, Firbeck, Gildingwells, Harthill-with-Woodall, Letwell, St Johns-with-Throapham, Thorpe Salvin, Todwick, Wales, Woodsets.

The workhouse, a stone building in Eastgate, was erected in 1837, at a cost of 4,400 and could accommodate 200 inmates.

The Board of Guardians met every alternate Wednesday, at the Workhouse at 10.45am to discuss Union matters.

Officers to the Union 1899
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee, Superintendent Registrar James Snow Whall, Bridge Street, Worksop
Relieving & Vaccination Officer and Collector to the Guardians; South District William Madin, Portland Place
Relieving & Vaccination Officer and Collector to the Guardians; North District Henry Justice, Carlton
Treasurer Rupert Evelyn, Worksop

The population in 1891 was 30,979, area 79,945 acres and rateable value of the Union in 1899 196,505.

Workhouse Staff 1899
Workhouse Master Louis John Rayment
Workhouse Matron Mrs Rayment
Medical Officer C. Fleming
Chaplain Rev. W. F. Boot

Nottinghamshire Archives
County House
Castle Meadow Road
Telephone: +44 [0]115 958 1634

Page updated March 12, 2008
Copyright Rossbret 1999-2002. All rights reserved.