Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteChurch Stretton


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteChurch Stretton


Church Stretton Workhouse

The Board of Guardians meet every alternate Thursday at the Workhouse at 2pm. The population in 1891 was 5,401, rateable value in 1900 59,879 and acreage is 46,085 including 5,000 acres of common land.

The Union comprises the following parishes;
Acton Scott, All Stretton, Cardington, Church Stretton, Easthope, Eaton, Hope, Bowdler, Leebotwood, Little Stretton, Longnor, Rushbury, Shipton, Sibdon, Smethcott, Winstanstow and Woolstaston.

Union Officers 1900
Chairman of the Board of Guardians A. Wood-Acton esq.
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee James B. Webster
Treasurer R. A. Slaney Eyton
Relieving and Vaccination Officer Wm. Hy. Eardley
Superintendent Registrar Arthur E. de Zrinyi

The workhouse, a building of stone, erected in 1838, at a cost of 2,000 will hold 100 inmates.

Workhouse Staff 1900
Geo. Higginson M.R.C.S.Eng. L.R.C.P.Lond. Medical Officer
Rev. Charles Noel-Hill M.A. Chaplain
Richard Yapp Workhouse Master
Mrs Yapp Workhouse Matron
Miss Ruth Pearce Nurse


The Shropshire Records and Research Centre, 
Castle Gates, 
Shrewsbury SY1 2AQ 
Telephone: +44 (0)1743 255350 


Page updated March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email