Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteEllesmere


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteEllesmere


Ellesmere Union

The Board of Guardians meet every alternate Tuesday, at the Board Room, Ellesmere Workhouse. The population of the Union in 1891 was 14,797, area 79,372 and rateable value in 1900 130,150. The parishes of Bangor and Worthenbury, in Flintshire were transferred to Ellesmere Union in 1896.

There are 21 parishes in the Union, ten of which are in the County of Flint;
Bangor (Flint), Baschurch, Bettisfield (Flint), Bronington (Flint), Cockshutt, Ellesmere Rural, Ellesmere Urban, Great Ness, Hadnall, Halghton (Flint), Hanmer (Flint), Hordley, Little Ness, Middle, Overton (Flint), Penley (Flint), Petton, Tybroughton (Flint), Welsh Hampton, Willington (Flint), and Worthenbury (Flint).

Union Officers 1900
Chairman of the Board of Guardians Brownlow Richard Christopher Tower
Clerk to Guardians & Assessment Committee Robert Edward Lloyd
Treasurer Ralph Aglionby Slaney
Relieving Officer - Ellesmere District William Henry Rutter
Relieving Officer - Hanmer District William Williams
Superintendent Registrar John Povey Stant

The workhouse, a large brick building at Haughton, about a quarter of a mile from the Town, was built in the year 1792 and will hold 350 inmates. The average number is about 65.

Workhouse Staff 1900
Chaplain Rev. Atherton E. Wauton
Medical Officer John Hancock Busteed L.R.C.S.Edin, L.F.P.S.Glas. L.S.A.
Workhouse Master  John Davies
Workhouse Matron Mrs Amy Davies


The Shropshire Records and Research Centre, 
Castle Gates, 
Shrewsbury SY1 2AQ 
Telephone: +44 (0)1743 255350 

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret