Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteDrayton


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteDrayton


Drayton Union

The Board of Guardians meet every alternate Thursday at the Board room, Market Drayton, at 10.30am. The population of the Union in 1891 was 14,196, the area 65,046 acres and the rateable value in 1900 121,824.

Drayton Union consists of the following 12 parishes;
Adderley, Ashley, Cheswardine, Childs Ercall, Drayton-in-Hales (Market Drayton), Hinstock, Hodnet, Moreton Say, Mucclestone, Norton-in-Hales, Stoke-upon-Tern, Tittenley, Tyrley and Woore

Union Officers 1900
Chairman of the Board of Guardians John Tayleur
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee John St Clair Upton
Treasurer John Humphreys
Relieving and Vaccination Officer and Collector for the Union George Henry Newitt
Superintendent Registrar John St Clair Upton

The Workhouse, Little Drayton, a structure of brick, erected in 1854, to hold 128 inmates.

Workhouse Staff 1900
Medical Officer Arthur Richard Frederic Exham
Workhouse Master Squire Hill
Workhouse Matron  Mrs Elizabeth Hill


The Shropshire Records and Research Centre, 
Castle Gates, 
Shrewsbury SY1 2AQ 
Telephone: +44 (0)1743 255350 

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret