Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteClutton


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteClutton


Clutton Poor Law Union and Workhouse

Clutton Union Workhouse was erected 1836 - 1837 from designs by Jesse Gane loosely based on the Hexagon Plan, but with a simple arrangement of interior buildings rather than the classical Y shape.

Clutton Union comprised the parishes of Cameley, Camerton, Chelwood, Chew Magna, Chew Stoke, Chilcompton, Clutton, Compton Martin, Farnborough, Farrington Gurney, East Harptree, West Harptree, Hinton Blewitt, High Littleton, Litton, Nempnett Thrubwell, Midsomer Norton, Norton Hawkfield, Norton Malreward, Paulton, Publow, St Thomas in Pensford, Stanton Drew, Ston Easton, Stowey, Timsbury, Ubley and North Widcombe.

A new Infirmary building was erected in 1881 but standing empty at the time of the census.

James Dury Master of Workhouse 1881 census
Bertha Dury Matron of Workhouse 1881 census


Somerset Record Office
Obridge Road, 
TA2 4BU 
Telephone: +44 (0)1 823 278 805 


Page updated Wednesday March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email