Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteWellington


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteWellington


Wellington Poor Law Union and Workhouse 

Wellington Union Workhouse was erected 1836-1838 from designs by Richard Carver, architect of Taunton.

Wellington Poor Law Union comprised the parishes of Ashbrittle, Bathealton, Bradford, West Buckland, Chipstable, Fitzhead, Hillfarrance, Kittisford, Langford Budville, Milverton, Nynehead, Oake, Raddington, Runnington, Sampford Arundel, Stawley, Thorne St Margaret, Wellington and Wiveliscombe.

Workhouse Master Stephen Robert Morgan 1881 census
Workhouse Matron Elizabeth Sarah Morgan 1881 census

The Workhouse buildings have now all been demolished.


Page updated Wednesday March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email