Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBedminster


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteBedminster


Bedminster Poor Law Union and Workhouse

The Bedminster Union Workhouse was erected 1837 in Long Ashton, Somerset, by G. Gilbert Scott and W. Bonython Moffatt, architects.

The Bedminster Union (renamed Long Ashton Union in 1899) comprised the Parishes of Backwell, Barrow Gurney, Bedminster, Brockley, Chelvey, Clapton, Clevedon, Dundry, Easton-in-Gordano, Flax Bourton, Kenn, Kingston Seymour, Abbots Leigh, Long Ashton, Nailsea, Portbury, Portishead, Tickenham, Walton-in-Gordano, Weston-in-Gordano, Winford, Wraxall and Yatton.

James Haydon Stone Master of Workhouse 1881 census
Mary Ann Stone Matron of Workhouse 1881 census


Somerset Record Office
Obridge Road, 
TA2 4BU 
Telephone: +44 (0)1 823 278 805 


Page updated Wednesday March 12, 2008

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email