Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAlstonfield


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAlstonfield


Alstonfield Gilbert Union

The Parish of Alstonfield maintains its own poor, under Gilbert's Act (22 Geo.3,c.83.), in the parish workhouse, conjointly with Butterton, Grindon and Wetton, independently from Leek Union. 

This parish comprises the Townships of;
Alstonfield, Elkstone (Lower), Elkstone (Upper), Fawfield-Head, Heathy-Lee, Hollins-Clough, Longnor (a small market town 6 miles north-north-west), Quarnford and Warslow. The Incorporation contains 10,469 acres, and a population in 1861 of 1,799.

The Parish Clerk in 1868 was Richard Seddon, and the Workhouse Master William Fowler.

Alstonfield Gilbert Union was dissolved in 1869, when Butterton and Grindon became part of Leek Union in Staffordshire.


Staffordshire Record Office
County Buildings
Eastgate Street
ST16 2LZ
Telephone: U.K. 01785 278379 

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret