Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAlcester


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteAlcester


Alcester Poor Law Union and Workhouse

The Alcester Poor Law  Union was declared 7th May 1836 and consisted of 22 parishes and hamlets, comprising Abbot's Morton, Alcester, Arrow, Great Alne, Aston Cantlow, Bidford, Coughton, Exhall, Feckenham, Haselor, Inkberrow, Ipsley, Kinwarton, Morton Baggott, Oldberrow, Oversley (hamlet), Salford, Sambourne (hamlet), Spernall, Studley, Weethley and Wixford.

The population of the Union in 1861 was 16,878 and the area 52,430 acres.

The population of the Union in 1891 was 19,978; area 52,430 acres; rateable value 91,123.

Board day, alternate Wednesdays at the Board room, Workhouse at 2pm.
Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee, Samuel Alfred Gothard, Alcester. (also Superintendent Registrar)

The workhouse on the road to Henley-in-Arden, was built in 1837, at a cost of 3,039 4s 6d and enlarged in 1865 and 1867, and is now available for 260 inmates. The front is of stone given by the Late Sir Charles Throckmorton, bart.
Rev. John Heath Sykes, Chaplain.
Robert William Jephcott, Medical Officer.
Alfred Reed, Master.
Mrs Mary Ann Reed, Matron.
Source: Kelly's Directory 1892


Workhouses, List of those visited in 1867 With Name of the Workhouse and numbers of  insane, idiotic, and imbecile inmates.
Alcester 2 5 7
Source: 22nd Report of the Commissioners in Lunacy to the Lord Chancellor. Submitted by Alan Longbottom.

The Alcester Workhouse Infirmary became Alcester Hospital under the National Health Service, situated on Kinwarton Road, Alcester. 


Warwick Record Office
Priory Park, 
Cape Road, 
CV34 4JS. 
Tel +44 (0)1926 412735 

Useful Links

Link to Alcester Union Workhouse Site

Alcester Parish Workhouse Site

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email

Page updated March 12, 2008 by Rossbret