Link back to main ROSSBRET websitePershore


Link back to main ROSSBRET websitePershore


Pershore Poor Law Union and Workhouse

Following the Poor Law Amendment Act Pershore Poor Law Union was declared 28th September 1835. 

The Union consisted the Parishes of Abberton, Besford, Birlingham, Bishampton, Bredicot, Bricklehampton, Broughton Hackett, Charlton, Churchill, Cropthorne, Defford, Dormston, Eckington, Elmley Castle, Fladbury, Flyford Flavel, Grafton Flyford, Great Comberton, Hill & Moor, Holy Cross (Pershore), Kington, Little Comberton, Naunton Beauchamp, Netherton, North Piddle, Norton-by-Kempsey, Peopleton, Pinvin, Pirton, St Andrew's (Pershore), Spetchley, Stoulton, Strensham, Throckmorton, Upton Snodsbury, White Ladies Aston, Whittington, Wick near Pershore and Wyre Piddle

The Workhouse was erected in 1836 based on the 200-pauper model plan designed by Sampson Kempthorne, architect. It was located about a quarter of a mile south from Holy Cross Church, being a structure of brick and costing 3,000. The Workhouse could accommodate 220 inmates.

Clerk to the Guardians and Assessment Committee, James Milward, Bridge Street, Pershore.
Rev. James Allen Bell M.A. Chaplain.
James G. Busher, Medical Officer
Edward Field, Master
Mrs Field, Matron

A detached infirmary was built in 1891, at a cost of 1,597, and a new Board room and Clerk's offices were added at the same time, at a cost of 740.

Only a few of the buildings now survive.

Records are held by Worcester Record Office, County Hall, Spetchley Road, Worcester. WR5 2NP 

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email

Page last updated 12 March, 2008