Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteTenbury


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteTenbury


Tenbury Union Workhouse

Following the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act Tenbury Poor Law Union was declared 2nd August 1836. The Board of Guardians met every alternate Tuesday, at the Board room in the Workhouse at 11am.
The poor law Union consisted the parishes of Bockleton, Eastham, Great Kyre, Hanley Child, Hanley William, Knighton upon Teme, Lindridge, Little Kyre, Orleton, Rochford, Tenbury, Boraston, Burford, Greet, Nash, Whitton, Brimfield, Little Hereford and Stoke Bliss

The Workhouse was erected 1837 from designs by George Wilkinson, architect. It was a small brick building capable of holding 62 inmates. 

Charles Aemilius Ross, Medical Officer
Enos Higgins, Master
Mrs Emma Higgins, Matron.
Industrial School; Miss Owen, Instructor.
Source: Kelly's Directory

The Workhouse building is now used as Local Authority Offices.

Records are held by Worcester Record Office, County Hall, Spetchley Road, Worcester. WR5 2NP

Page last updated 12 March, 2008
Copyright Rossbret 1999-2002. All rights reserved.