Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteUpton on Severn


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteUpton on Severn


Upton on Severn Union Workhouse

Following the Poor Law Amendment Act 1834, Upton on Severn Union was declared 29th October 1835. The Board of Guardians met alternate Thursdays, at the Board room, Workhouse at 12 noon.

The Union comprised the following parishes Berrow, Birts Morton, Bushley, Castle Morton, Croomw D'Abitot, Earl's Croome, Eldersfield, Guarlford, Hanley Castle, Hill Croome, Holdfast, Kempsey, Longdon, Madresfield, Malvern Great, Malvern Little, Newland, Powick, Queenhill, Ripple, Severn Stoke, Upton on Severn and Welland

The Workhouse was erected 1836 based on the model 200-pauper plan published by the Poor Law Commissioners, designed by Sampson Kempthorne and built of brick. It was further enlarged in 1870 with the addition of an Infirmary and Chapel, and could then accommodate 150 inmates.

Clerk to Guardians and Assessment Committee, George Powell, New Street, Upton on Severn.
Rev. Mervyn Woodward, Chaplain
John Selwyn Cowley, Medical Officer.
John Wyllie, Master
Mrs Wyllie, Matron.

The Workhouse buildings have been demolished, and a Care Home now occupies the site.

Records are held by Worcester Record Office, County Hall, Spetchley Road, Worcester. WR5 2NP 

Copyright Rossbret 1999-2005. All rights reserved.

If you have any information or photographs that you can add to this site, please email

Page last updated 12 March, 2008