Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteWakefield


Link back to main ROSSBRET websiteWakefield


Wakefield Poor Law Union and Workhouse

Wakefield Union comprises the four townships of the parish of Wakefield, & the following fourteen townships, viz: 
East Arsdsley, West Ardsley, West Bretton, Chevit,  Crigglestone,  Emley,  Flockton, Oulton with Woodlesford,  Shittlington,  Sharlstone,  Sandal Magna, Walton,  Warmfield cum Heath and Thorpe. 
These eighteen townships contain about 48,900 inhabitants. 

The Board of Guardians meet every Wednesday noon, at the Workhouse. Four guardians are elected for Wakefield, two each for Alverthorpe with Thornes & Stanley cum
Wrenthorpe, and one for each of the other fifteen townships. 

The present Union Workhouse, in Park Lane, is a large & handsome brick building, erected in 1851-52, at the cost of more than 8000, including the purchase of the site. It has room for 360 paupers, but has seldom more than half that number. 

Mr Wm Stewart is Union Clerk & Superintendent Registrar; 
Messrs Wm Pullan & J Kershaw are Relieving Officers; 
Mr Benjamin & Mrs Child are master & matron of
the Workhouse.
The return for Wakefield in 1851 included 150 in the Union Workhouse; & that of Stanley with Wrenthorpe, about 400 in the West Riding Pauper Lunatic Asylum.
Submitted by Betty Longbottom 

Link to Wakefield accession to records

Page updated 12 March, 2008 by Rossbret